Shannon Kennedy

Never My Love

Home // Discography // Never My Love

Never My Love, up and coming saxophonist Shannon Kennedy’s third album, is a fresh, youthful take on some 70s pop classics mixed in with some of Kennedy’s originals.

In the words of national jazz author Jonathan Widran, “[Peter] White’s always-recognizable acoustic guitar spruces up the sweet, soprano driven reading of the title track, but Shannon’s virtuosity as both producer and musician is the driving force. The best of the originals, “All It Takes” is slamming retro funk fun, and nicely balances the softer touches of “Fire And Rain” (given a bluesy treatment here with the help of Drew Simpson’s guitar), the soothing title track and two beautiful Bread ballads “If” and “Make It With You.” She also cleverly brings out the whimsy via the flute on Hall & Oates’ “I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do).”

Get the album:    

Released: 13 Nov 2007

Copyright: 2007 Shannon Kennedy

Genres: Jazz, Music, Pop

Credits: Shannon Kennedy – saxophones, flutes and programming
Peter White – guitar on Never My Love
Drew Simpson – guitar
Steph Lexner – guitar
“[On “Never My Love”] her diversity is great and she allows herself to switch off [instruments] based on the tone she feels might best convey the emotion of the song. Complementing the ballads—which also include passionate readings of “Superstar” and “What You Won’t Do For Love”—are the uptempo blasts through the party tune “Low Rider” (with Shannon and Vail creating a scorching dual sax line) and, most irresistible for those of us old enough to actually remember the 70s, the Bee Gee’s disco classic “Night Fever.” The absolutely best cut the blistering rock jam of Steely Dan’s rarely covered “My Old School,” finishes this album off with a bang. Driven by Shannon’s most colorful playing and the blistering guitar of Stephan Lexner. It’s an absolute smash and will get everyone’s day off to a pumpin’ start.”

“Never My Love” features an array of instrumentalists alongside saxophonist Shannon Kennedy including: Peter White on acoustic guitar, Dan Reckard on keyboards, Drew Simpson on guitar, Bob Fazio on bass, Tyler Hindsley on bass, and Stephan Lexner on guitar.

Get the album: